loader image

EVENTS

 

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Grief During The Holidays: Virtual Support Group for Parents or Couples Who Have Lost a Child

November 3 @ 4:00 pm - 5:30 pm

This group is for those who live in East and Central Time Zones.

Pre-registration is required! Contact marianne@ericshouse.org or madison@ericshouse.org to see if this is the right group for you. 

EricsHouse Support Group for Parents or Couples creates a safe space for you to talk about your loss. This group is open to parents or couples who have lost a child to suicide, substance abuse, homicide, illness or any sudden loss.

Grieving the loss of someone you love is difficult at any time of year. During the holiday season, we often experience intense emotions surrounding our loss. It seems impossible that the world is celebrating, but for those grieving, a sense of loneliness and sadness can overshadow the holiday.  Traditional holiday celebrations might feel very triggering and it might feel like we want to avoid the holiday altogether.

This group will provide you with support and helpful tips on how to survive.  We will discuss your loved one, our emotions, how to handle family and triggering events, and will provide options for navigating family and social events.  It’s important to know that you aren’t alone, and you can survive the holiday season in a way that allows you to be comfortable and to honor your grief and remember your loved one in ways that are helpful to you.

We will follow Healing Your Holiday Grief: 100 Practical Ideas for Blending Mourning and Celebration During the Holiday Season by Dr. Alan Wolfelt Ph.D. We will mail you a book and journal. There is a $45 fee to cover the cost of materials. Scholarships are available.

Group begins on November 3 and ends on January 12. It will meet every other Thursday at 4 PM AZ time (6 PM CST, 7 PM EST for first session.)

The second session and all others will be 5 PM CST, 6 PM EST.

East and Central session Dates: 

  • November 3 *Daylight Savings in effect 11/6.
  • November 17 (Meeting time will move up by an hour)
  • December 1
  • December 15 
  • December 29
  • January 12

Marianne Gouveia and Madison Shirley are the facilitators of this group. We ask that you contact your facilitators, marianne@ericshouse.org or madison@ericshouse.org to determine if this group is right for you. 

 

Details

Date:
November 3
Time:
4:00 pm - 5:30 pm
Event Categories:
,